cinnamon and corduroy

When I got home from work this evening, I had such grand plans to do so many things.  I wanted to make proper chai, photograph this endeavor, and also photograph today’s outfit, which is apparently something women with blogs do rather religiously, these days.  Thought I’d become part of the loop.

I accomplished only one of those things.

I made chai.

In the end, I decided that the outfit I wore to work was actually pretty darn stupid, and that my arms were too fat and my hair too staticky, and the whole thing just wasn’t worth the effort.  So I changed. And was comfortable and mostly warm.

By the way, my tea is delicious.  I crafted it in a Crock Pot. You can do it just as nicely in a saucepan on the stove.  However, this made a large quantity of tea base (8 glorious cups) which I can pop in the fridge and add milk and ice to tomorrow morning.  Quickie ingredients list, which I modified to fit my personal tastes:

  • 8 cups water
  • 8 black tea bags (I used Red Rose)
  • 5 cinnamon sticks
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 16 whole cloves
  • 8 slices fresh ginger
  • 1/2 cup milk per glass (I didn’t actually measure)

That makes 8 servings.  It’s quite lovely iced, and not as sugary as premade powder mixes.  The original recipe called for 3/4 cup sugar. Screw that.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

