documented

I like documentaries.  I think they make nice background noise, especially on a sick-in-bed kind of day like today.

See, I had a whole recipe post lined up.  I had photos taken and everything. Unfortunately, as my body has rejected said recipe, I figured I’d save that for later.  This has really kind of put a damper on my whole day, what with errands to run and a paycheck to earn.  Instead, I suppose I’ll talk to you about movies.

Any information presented in a documentary film or series should always be taken with a grain of salt.  Filmmakers always have an angle. That being said, here are a few films that I’ve recently watched and enjoyed.

All in This Tea, 2007

This film follows David Lee Hoffman as he blazes a trail through China to import organically farmed, high-quality teas to the states. There are some stunning shots of rural China in this one; it makes me want to visit again even more.  It’s a beautiful country with beautiful people and beautiful food.

Related: Silk Road Teas

Béla Fleck: Throw Down Your Heart, 2008

American musician Béla Fleck goes on a musical tour of Africa to trace the roots of the banjo.  I loved this. It warmed my little heart.  Fleck has such an awkward personality, but when he’s playing, that awkwardness completely melts away.  It’s pure joy.

Food Matters, 2008

Food Matters is an interesting look at nutrition versus the health care and drug industries.  While I am all about nourishing the body, and generally agree with much of what is said, I thought this one was a bit preachy. The one fellow who talks exclusively about raw foods kind of makes me want to bash my head against a wall.

Tapped, 2009

Tapped looks at the bottled water industry and how it’s affecting our health and the health of the planet. Probably a little preachy for some, but there’s a plethora of information here. The segment on ocean pollution near the end really broke my heart.

Related: My Plastic-free Life / earth911, plastics

Also recommended: Food Inc., The Parking Lot Movie, and a really lovely six-part BBC series called Wild China.

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

