green things

I had spinach for breakfast.  Oh yes I sure did.  I adapted Joy’s kale, spinach and pear smoothie recipe,which is here.  I didn’t have kale, so I upped the amount of spinach a bit.

I know this doesn’t look particularly appetizing, for which I blame my camera (and lack of kale green-i-ness), but trust me when I say it was delicious.  The pear really makes this.  Don’t leave it out.  It’s too nice.  I don’t even like eating pears.

You will need:

  • 1 1/2 cups of spinach leaves
  • 1/2 pear
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 1/2 cups cold milk alternative (or juice)
  • 1 tablespoon honey **
  • (also threw in a half teaspoon of  super! rainbows! love! go!)

** If your milk is sweetened (mine was), or if you use juice, it’s probably safe to omit the honey.  I forgot to add it and found that I really didn’t need it.  Without the honey, this is vegan-friendly, or you could sub agave or maple syrup.  Or stevia, I guess, but gross.

I normally use unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze, if you’re curious.  It can be hard to find. I accidentally bought the sweetened version and it’s a little bleh.

This is what you’ll do:

  1. Combine spinach and almond milk in the blender.  Blend until there are no big bits.
  2. Add banana, pear, and honey to blender.  Blend until smooth.
  3. Into a glass it goes!
Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

