what I use

This is going to be a little boring.  It’s mostly for me.  I’ll have something for you tomorrow.  Maybe photos of food.  Photos of thrift scores.  Heck if I know.  It’s going to be that kind of weekend, I can totally tell.

~

These are the products I use regularly. Sometimes I splurge on new things. I try to use animal & planet friendly products as much as possible, but I know I’m not perfect.

Face:

  • cleanser: (when needed) Queen Helene honey oatmeal scrub [v], LUSH 9-5 (for makeup removal)
  • lip balmHurraw! balm [v] ♥, Badger cocoa butter balms
  • moisturizer: Neutrogena Naturals (** This particular product line is not tested on animals, but the company as a whole does use animal testing.) ♥
  • mascara: Physician’s Formula Organic Wear in black
  • makeup: LUSH colour supplement in light pink [v] mixed into moisturizer, Physician’s Formula Mineral Wear loose powder

Body:

  • body washSt. IvesDr. Bronner liquid soaps [v]
  • exfoliation: LUSH Ocean Salt ♥
  • deodorant: Tom’s of Maine [v]
  • perfume: LUSH vanillary (solid) ♥
  • moisturizer: St. Ives Naturally Indulgent [v]
  • nail polishes: OPI, SpaRitual ♥, Wet ‘n Wild, Zoya

Hair:

  • shampoo: Alba Body Builder Mango shampoo [v], Organix, Say Yes (to carrots) [v]
  • conditioner:  Alba Body Builder Mango conditioner [v] Organix

Dental:

  • toothpaste: Tom’s of Maine [v]

Etcetera:

  • Diva Cup ♥ (♥♥)
  • razor: Until someone makes a five-blade out of recycled plastic, I’m using my Venus Divine (reusable handle) and cartridges.
  • shaving: Kiss My Face lavender shea ♥

I am currently in the process of switching a handful of products to more animal and earth friendly alternatives. I consider this an ongoing self-improvement project and, as I hurtle towards my thirties, my needs are going to change.

LUSH products are somewhat expensive and they’re not available locally (there’s a store in Boston and another one in Maine), so I always save up and buy them in bulk. The ones on this list are products I’ve purchased multiple times and continue to love.

Useful Links:

If anyone has any recommendations, please leave a comment.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “what I use

  1. some notes on being not-so-painted « November 16, 2011 at 11:31 am Reply

    […] time to be real. I’m really not much of a cosmetics person. I like lip balm. I sometimes use pressed powder and mascara. I think I own one Urban Decay eye […]

Leave a Reply

