homemade shampoo

I made my own shampoo and conditioner, today.

I don’t know.  I was bored.  I had all the ingredients.  The only real work it involved was digging through the recycling to find bottles.

The recipe is adapted from Organic Authority, but the internet is a total DIY health & beauty wonderland.  You know that.

Shampoo:

You will need:

  • 1 cup pure liquid castile soap (Dr. Bronner’s orange)
  • 1 cup green tea, brewed for thirty minutes
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon honey (from an apiary in Maine!)

Mix everything together in a bottle.  Pretty simple.  Oh.  If you’re doing this yourself, use an actual shampoo or conditioner bottle.  Juice bottles (wide mouth) are going to be messy.  I know.

The conditioner is simply a mix of apple cider vinegar and hot water (one-half cup and two and a half cups, respectively).  I halved it, and shook up them in a plastic juice bottle.  The original recipe recommend using about three-quarters of a cup, two to three times a week after shampooing.  Just drizzle over your head, let it sit for a bit, and rinse.  If you’re worried about the smell, you can add an herbal tea bag; let the mixture sit for about half an hour before use, discard the tea bag.

I took a bunch of photos of the process, but they are terribly, impossibly lame and I am refusing to post most of them.  My kitchen is small and dirty and lacks natural light and counter space.  And, to be perfectly honest with you, I don’t want anyone to think that I believe myself to be a talented stylist or photographer. I’m totally not. Kindly observe.

I drank tea while I waited for tea to steep…

…which was unfortunately super-ultra-hippie-tea (or, according to boyf, “Ricky-Martin-tea” haha).  Totally uninspiring.

Post-shower notes:  Apple cider vinegar burns if you pick at your cuticles, but as a conditioner, it works wonders.  My hair feels so soft.  All I did was pour a little bit into a cup.  I dipped the ends of my hair first, and then I just carefully poured the rest over my head, rubbing it in a bit. I let it sit for a couple minutes while I scrubbed my toesies.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

