snippets

The other evening, a nice older woman told me to take good care of my feet.  I bet she was somebody’s mother.

Are you a mom?  Happy day to you! I think every day should be your day.

I lost my mum at a young age (I was sixteen, and she would have turned 55), but thanks to everything she did for me early on, I managed to make it through the next few years more or less unscathed. I think perhaps, had she stayed around a bit longer, I may have avoided a scar or two, but I also wouldn’t be the person I am right now.  I like me.  I think she’d like me, too.

Today I drank iced tea, took a walk to the drug store, and bought myself a new mascara and some water colour paper.  I also may or may not have mildly-splurged on vintage red thunderbird Minnetonka moccasins.

My water colour paint set is a decades old Prang set in a tin case. While a couple of the paints themselves are not original, the scratched and dented tin is precious. It has been with me everywhere, even packed in my suitcase to China.

I really like old black and gold souvenir glasses like this one.  I have another from California.  They’re terrific for bourbon; it makes me feel very nostalgic for an America I will never know.

I’m currently working on a couple sweet little illustrations for a friend’s wedding.  It’s such an honour and a surprise to be asked to do something of this nature, and I’m totally excited.  I thought maybe a combination of water colour and digital collage would work really nicely, but we’ll see where things go.

I hope you’re all having a lovely Sunday.

Oh.  Speaking of bourbon.  You should check out these cocktails from Joy The Baker.   Joy likes bourbon.  I like her.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

