playing chicken

Over the years, I’ve developed a soft spot for chickens and roosters. We raised hens when I was growing up. Rhode Island Reds. Great birds with great personalities. Beautiful brown eggs.

Can we talk about fresh eggs from happy chickens? I don’t even know what to tell you. They’re absolutely brilliant.

(Art by Andrew Woodward)

My hen-love was sparked anew during my mentoring days with Burlington City Arts. One of the girls in our group had this incredible talent for drawing and painting animals. We would chat a lot about our pets, and I introduced her to the artwork of Ito Jakuchu.

Her painting style reminded me so much of Jakuchu. The kid was thirteen years old. Blew my mind. And she was so happy with everything she created, so connected to it. And you know, that also blew my mind.

She really loved chickens. She was totally infatuated with the ones she kept at home. Talking and making art with her (and all the other kids in that group) made every week for me during a really depressing winter.

These days, as I am hurtling towards my thirties (cool, right?), I find myself being drawn to (primarily) vintage chicken-themed home decor. And you know what? It’s a surprisingly fine line between tasteful decor and country kitsch. I see some pretty “amazing” things come through the door at Goodwill.

These are two of my favourites. Neither came from Goodwill.

The coasters I received in exchange for a bit of  work with T.’s dad. The measuring spoon set is something that has been in the big yellow house for as long as I can remember. I have taken them with me on every move.

These two pieces are the current entirety of my chicken home decor collection.

Because um. I don’t actually have a kitchen.

But I have dreams.

Look at these cute flags by Windsparrow Studio.

Hello awesome.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “playing chicken

  1. starzyia July 10, 2011 at 10:38 pm Reply

    wow these ARE awesome! I don’t usually go for banners and flags, but the ones featured here have totally won me over.

    • Naomi July 11, 2011 at 2:18 pm Reply

      Aren’t they just beautiful? I’m in love.

Leave a Reply

