elevenses

I was tagged (ages ago) by Jess to do this blogger questionnaire thing. It kind of reminds me of livejournal (REMEMBER LIVEJOURNAL!?), but it’s slightly (if just only) more grownup. A whole slew of classy blog ladies have already posted, so I feel a bit special.

Oh. It’s also sort of like a chain letter. Do kids still do those? I mean the in-the-mail ones, not the destined-for-the-spam-folder ones.

The Rules:

  1. Post 11 things about yourself on your blog.
  2. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you, plus post eleven questions for the people you have tagged to answer.
  3. Choose eleven people and link them in your tag.
  4. Email the person to let them know that they’ve been tagged.
  5. No tag backs.
  6. You legitimately have to tag.
I may have re-written the rules. They make more sense, now. I don’t have any friends with blogs, so if you want to answer the questions Jess posted, feel free to share! Or just tell me about you. That sounds fun, too.

11 Random Facts About Me: 

  1. I lived and studied in Kunming, China for three months in the summer of 2008. You can read a little about it in some old posts at Okazu. Some of those are pretty funny. Sadly, my Mandarin is now totally shot.
  2. My favourite book is The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster. Every child should read that book. It’s perfect.
  3. I’m an art school dropout. I attended Massachusetts College of Art in Boston for one year (2003-2004) before I realized that I was so not into it.  Thankfully, my credits transferred. I ended up at UVM a couple years later and graduated with a degree in Asian Studies / Art History in 2009.
  4. I don’t know how to wear makeup. I never learned. I wear mascara and the occasional tinted moisturizer, but that’s about as far as I dare to venture.
  5. I keep a draft of a wedding playlist on my computer(s) at all times.
  6. I finally scheduled my GRE. June 27. The thought of going to grad school is absolutely terrifying, so I’ve been procrastinating since I moved back here. I think it’s been long enough.
  7. I want to work in museums. Research? Curating? I don’t know. Anything. I need to be a part of that world.
  8. Despite dropping out of art school, I still want to make art. Every day.
  9. My first tattoo (soon?) will be a line from one of my father’s poems, from his first book.
  10. When I was a little kid, my best friend started a club called the World Rescuers. I think there were eight of us, and we were legit. We raised money to plant trees and adopt whales, and we bought acres of rainforest (back when that was a thing you could do). We purchased environmental education books for our town library. We were on the radio and in local newspapers. We owned Green Up Day (a Vermont thing) in Hardwick. Basically we were “green” before that was a coined phrase. Looking back, I am totally in awe of us.
  11. I don’t have a television or cable. I really like that about my life, right now.

Jess’s Questions:

  1. Take a Myers-Brigg type assessment here. What type are you? Do you think it’s accurate? I got INTJ. I’ve taken similar tests before and have gotten INFJ the majority of those times, which I think is far more accurate.
  2. If you could live in any time period, ever, what would it be? Honestly? I  really like being alive right now. I guess that’s boring.  The 1940s would be pretty interesting.
  3. Who’s your hero/greatest inspiration? my parents, definitely, in all kinds of ways
  4. Who’s your favorite character from either literature or cinema? Lyra Belacqua from His Dark Materials
  5. If you could go on vacation anywhere in the world, where would it be? Iceland. ICELAND (this will be happening).
  6. If money was not an issue, what is the luxury makeup/skincare/beauty/fashion item you would like to try most? black opal earrings
  7. Bath or shower? nice long hot shower with fancy smelling scrubby things
  8. You can only have one meal for the rest of your life (appetizer, entree, and dessert.) What is it? peking duck daikon tacos from Zengo + pan fried rice noodles with only my favourite veggies + green tea bubble tea … I would never ever get sick of Asian food. Ever.
  9. What’s one secret confession no one really knows? I had a gigantic school-girly crush on my dorky East Asian History professor at UVM. It was not even remotely a sexual thing, either; it was like I wanted to go on an ice cream date with him and talk about Japanese baseball.
  10. What’s one skill you wish you had? ceramics and pottery making … I never took a class, and I really wish I had. I also wish I could draw straight lines. That would be incredible.
  11. What’s the biggest goal you’ve accomplished this year? I drove around a school parking lot without having a panic attack. I have never driven a car before.

Your turn, if you want!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

