chocolate chips

I made classic chocolate chip cookies, today. Nothing fancy, just perfection. I got the recipe from Joy the Baker, adapted from Demolition Desserts (which I have never heard of). I used Sugar in the Raw in place of standard granulated sugar, because that’s all I ever have. I also upped the vanilla to one and a half teaspoons. I like vanilla. The linked recipe makes thirty-ish tablespoon-sized cookies. I baked two trays of twelve and froze another handful to bake later. I also ate some of the dough. I am an adult. In retrospect, I ought to have baked the handful and frozen the rest. I don’t know what the heck I’m going to do with two dozen cookies and no boyfriend around to eat half of them for me.

Chilling the dough prior to spooning and baking makes things easy. It’s absolutely key. You don’t want your butter to be all squashy and spread out in the oven. This happened to my mother one Thanksgiving. I was perfectly happy munching on one giant (and flat) harvest-coloured M&M cookie. She, well, let’s just say she was not as amused… Hot tip: If you’re a speedy scooper and you fill up one cookie sheet while waiting for the oven to preheat, pop that sucker into the fridge.

I’ve been really cutting back on my sugar intake, recently, and the amount in these made my teeth itch (like in the episode of King of the Hill where Peggy forces Bobby to eat seaweed and wheat grass. No? Anybody?). I’m sure it’s a perfectly reasonable amount of sugar, so I don’t necessarily suggest messing around with it.

While in the process of ridding myself of all my worldly possessions (no, not really), I gave away my mismatched Pyrex plates. Apparently I don’t have any other small plates that are not either chipped or ugly, or both. Not that it matters. I can’t take an in focus food photograph to save my life. True facts. Also, sometimes I eat snacks off of a book.

The urge to bake made me realize that I am seriously lacking in the bake ware department. I think I’ll be adding measuring spoons and cups to this year’s birthday list. I really like the idea of investing in stainless steel (like these and these), instead of buying yet another crummy plastic set. And, of course, this set of bird spoons is absolutely adorable, though not nearly as practical. Then again, it’s my damned birthday and I should buy myself whatever the heck I want.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “chocolate chips

  1. mydearbakes September 14, 2012 at 5:34 am Reply

    Gosh, this looks marvellous ! I’m so loving it! =D

Leave a Reply

