oh, hello

I think I might I have a few posts of this same title. Hello. This month was quiet (and I was perhaps mildly depressed), but now it’s almost over and I realized I never officially wrote down any birthday goals. That’s something I would like to do. My list from last year was not entirely accomplished, so some goals will carry over.

Last year…

  • read more (way more) [more or less the same]
  • drive [two lessons]
  • grad school or grad school related progress [took my GRE]
  • eat more salad […]
  • decorate nicely for the holidays [We did!]
  • bake a pie from scratch [not yet]
  • make someone else’s birthday very special [I think I did okay. :) ]
  • travel with a boy [We went to DC and Chicago, and drove up to Vermont for a friend’s wedding.]
  • make art [Yes!]
  • [new job] [I was promoted, but remain at the same unhappy workplace.]

This year

  • complete my sketchbook project book (by January)
  • find a laptop bag
  • drive (this is so, so important)
  • get my graduate school stuff finished and submitted
  • find more time to meditate and relax and surround myself with quiet
  • continue to try new foods (This year, I learned to like some kinds of fishes!)
  • update my resume, continue the job search
  • read more!
  • stand up on the surfboard
  • make more art, get it out there
  • volunteer
  • catch up with Doctor Who
  • take more photos
  • get rid of the stuff I don’t need or want

I am not usually one for the inspirational quote, but this is(/has always been) appropriate.

Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities have crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense. -Emerson

My fingers and toes and my heart itch.

Movement.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “oh, hello

  1. five rules to live by « January 6, 2013 at 9:24 pm Reply

    […] around the web, and by this list of twelve rules to live by. I tend to make a list of yearly goals at my birthday, but the start of a new global year is a good time to think about my personal philosophy, and my […]

Leave a Reply

