pin it

I am bad at lifestyle blogging. That’s what this is, right? I am still not 100% sure. I think pinterest is stupid, I don’t have any hip recipes to share, and I’ve never really warmed up to the idea of taking daily photos of myself to show off my “style.” My current line of work doesn’t really allow for nice outfits, anyway. Don’t let anyone ever tell you that working at Goodwill isn’t dirty. It is dirty.

Perhaps now that my graduate school application is submitted, I’ll have more time to devote to this. I’d like that.

Over the last few years, I’ve built up a little collection of vintage brooches. It wasn’t intentional, although I did used to collect anime pins in my teen years (I still have some of those). I thought it would be nice to share a few; a couple didn’t photograph very well, so I left them out.

I apologize for the dust, as well as the blur. I took these with my cell phone. Or perhaps you have noticed that I am not a photographer.

pin1

pin2

The yellow daisy belonged to my mother; the leaf broke off somewhere along the line, which really saddens me. I have thought about taking off the stem completely, but it will involve a bit of work, and I am hesitant. The white flower was thrifted.

pin3

These are both thrifted (I bought them yesterday). I am in love with the New Hampshire one. I’m only about 75% sure that the NH pin is vintage. The WV one, more like 60%. Does anyone know how to tell with cloisonne pins? They fit the part, though, so I’m happy. Finding little gems like these in my store makes my day, especially because I don’t browse the jewelry section regularly (like I do with the books and housewares). I don’t know how they weren’t snatched up sooner.

pin4

This is another thirft store find. I had to adjust the colors a bit in Photoshop, so you could see the contrast, but it’s still not spot on. This is a big pin, about three inches long. I am guessing that there were originally gems in the eyes. I’m not sure if I want to try to replace them. I have a reindeer pin (not shown) that’s missing some rhinestones that are about the same size. It would be nice to work on them both at once.

My other mouse pin, which you can see in the first photo, didn’t photograph well in solo. That’s another one that belonged to my mother.

So, collection sharing? I think this gives me enough content for a handful of posts, and I won’t have to be in any of the photographs. I call that a win.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “pin it

  1. Draped in Cloudlets January 20, 2013 at 3:10 pm Reply

    The mouse pin is so adorable!

Leave a Reply

