color pencil mushrooms

I thought a daily sketch might be a nice way to get myself back into making art. My Sketchbook Project book really helped, but I didn’t do a whole lot of drawing in that one. Today I dusted off my colored pencils and roughed out a few mushrooms. Nature sketching has always been enjoyable for me. I sketched from a book rather than from actual specimens, but the process was still incredibly relaxing.

IMG_20130131_133634_Anne_Round

The book? A 1982 edition of Reader’s Digest North American Wildlife. It’s been my favorite reference book since I was first able to climb up on the back of the couch and reach the bookshelves back home. It definitely has a few crayon marks on some pages. Sorry about that, Dad.

mushies

I drew these hunched over on my bed with a table lamp behind me. Uh. My apartment is not an ideal environment for creativity. I am much better off at Timothy’s house, where there is glorious lighting, beautiful flat surfaces, and hardwood floors. Someday. I have hopes for a little studio corner in his upstairs spare bedroom, where the sun shines all day.

I used this paper because I had intended to work some watercolor in, but I decided against it in the end. There’s really no point in overworking just a few quick scribbles, and I knew that I would start to get frustrated. Actually, to be 100% honest, by the time I was halfway through that purple mushroom, I was almost burned out. This was only about twenty minutes worth of work, if that. The whole point of this exercise is to relax. Making art used to make me so happy. This is for me.

That purple mushroom is the worst. The worst.

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “color pencil mushrooms

  1. zenkatwrites April 11, 2013 at 3:18 pm Reply

    Art will make you happy again when you leave your critic and editor at the door. Give her/him something to do. Bank statements. Your parents faults. But not during your art time!

Leave a Reply

