Truly’s All Natural Deodorant

I have been on the hunt for a natural deodorant safe for sensitive skin for ages. Tom’s lavender (or better, unscented) has been my mostly-safe go to now for a while, but it does tend to irritate my skin post-shave. I found Truly’s on a google search for “moisturizing natural deodorant,” and decided to give it a try.

deo

At $10.49, it seems a little bit pricey at first, since I did have to mail order it. A little bit goes a long way, though; two ounces will last me quite a while, the website says four months. The two ounce size is carry-on bag friendly. I tend to think about these things because the boyfriend flies all the time.

The deodorant comes in cream form, in a little plastic tub with a screw on lid. To use it, you just rub a small amount onto your fingers and then apply. If you’re squeamish about touching your own armpits (I suppose years of using stick deodorant will do that to you), this is probably not your product.

Let’s talk about the ingredients. There are four: organic coconut oil, powdered sugar, baking soda, and beeswax. Truly’s talks a bit more in depth about the ingredients (including the sugar!), here. This deodorant is unscented, but smells faintly of coconut.

The first day, I applied it immediately after my shower in the morning. The container had been sitting in my fairly warm bathroom overnight, but the product remained solid. It didn’t take much to warm it up with the touch of my fingers. My skin was a little bit irritated from shaving the day before (I needed a new razor blade, at this point). I don’t think I used quite enough this first time, but it was hard to tell. I didn’t sweat much until my walk home from work. My cardigan smelled a bit sweaty when i took it off, but no more than it does when I wear other scented deodorants.

Already in day one, I could tell that this stuff handles temperature change really well. My mail arrived mid-afternoon and sat frozen overnight. Post-thaw, the product still had a great texture.

The next couple days, my razor burn was mostly healed and my skin back to normal. I used a bit more of the product on my fingers upon application, and it rubbed in smoothly. During the day, the smell was wet if I was sweating, but not offensive. I could smell the coconut oil. I feel like I should make a note at this point, in case you haven’t noticed, that this is not an anti-perspirant. I don’t use them, because I don’t necessarily mind being sweaty. My issue is being smelly and leaving stains on my nice clothes.

I haven’t noticed any irritation or drying, which is a plus. My underarms are starting to look like the rest of my skin, again! And, even after working out and my six hour shift at a pretty physical job, I don’t notice much of a smell. Again, the coconut oil seems to neutralize the sweat.

FYI, Truly’s does offer a money back guarantee within the first two weeks of ordering online. I realize that the product seems like a  bit of an investment, but I’m going to reevaluate in a few weeks. As of right now, the benefits (for me) seem to outweigh everything else. Besides, I’m a lady who doesn’t buy a whole lot of cosmetics; I don’t mind spending a little bit more money on a product that works. I may even suggest Truly’s to my local natural store.

NOTE: This is not a paid advertisement. I really enjoy researching and sharing products that are kind to earth and body.

3 thoughts on “Truly’s All Natural Deodorant

  1. palomino72 February 1, 2013 at 8:30 pm Reply

    you should try soaking a cotton ball with Organic Apple Cider Vinegar and wipe under the arms. Its surprisingly fantastic. The ACV destroys bacteria so there is no smell. True Story, let me know if it works for you :)

    • Naomi February 1, 2013 at 8:33 pm Reply

      Ooh! I use ACV for lots of things around the house; I always have it on hand. I worry about it being a bit too astringent/drying to use on my underarms, though. I have suuuper sensitive skin. Wouldn’t hurt to do a patch test! :)

      • palomino72 February 1, 2013 at 8:35 pm Reply

        Like you I have sensitive skin, but it was fine for me. The first time felt quite strong though but afterwards was fine. Good luck :)

Leave a Reply

