Mail Day (lots of pretties)

blur_mail

This week’s Mail Day covers a lot of ground! I spent a bit of my tax return on some nice things for myself (as well as birthday gifts for the Boyo). This collection of packages definitely ends my minor spending spree. I also received some perfume testing samples from my long-time internet lady, Jess (at Wanderlusted). She’s been busy crafting a line of scents named Rogue Alchemy. I’m really excited to try these out; I’ll let you know how it goes (THANK YOU JESS).

rogue_alchemy

It seems I’ve become something of a nail polish junkie. I’ve signed up for Julep’s Maven program and received my first box! I decided that getting full bottles of great nail polish every month seemed like a better treat for me than Birchbox’s monthly box of samples. I think Birchbox is a really fun program, but I’m so particular about what I use when it comes to cosmetics and personal care, that I can’t really use everything in the box every month. Spending a couple extra dollars on products I know I’ll use seems like a much better deal, and speaks to my thrifty-at-heart nature. My beautifully packaged starter box contained two “four-free” full-sized polishes (Lisa and Petra) and a bottle of cuticle oil. Pleased as punch.

Do you subscribe to any monthly boxes? What are your thoughts? Any favorites? They’re popping up everywhere.

Next week’s Mail Day is going to be a little more down-to-earth. Buying things on the internet has been fun, but now I have grown up things to pay and save for. Like, food. And rent. And art supplies. Mostly food.

Oh! I am not sure if you’ve noticed or not, but I’ve resurrected my old (old) food/snack blog, Okazu. I hope to be updating over there a couple times a week. If you like Asian snacks and candy, feel free to give it a follow!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Mail Day (lots of pretties)

  1. Must Have Boxes February 28, 2013 at 2:43 pm Reply

    What do your Julep nail colors look like? Please post a picture! I’ve been debating about whether or not to become a Julep Maven.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

    • Naomi February 28, 2013 at 2:46 pm Reply

      I just did a quick swatch, and I can’t tell you how much I LOVE the brushes in these bottles. I will definitely be featuring these when I do my next polish post! :)

  2. jess March 3, 2013 at 8:35 pm Reply

    I am so happy you like them so far, thanks again for helping me :) Also, I need to investigate this Scotch Naturals thing, because now I am super intrigued!

    • Naomi March 3, 2013 at 8:42 pm Reply

      Scotch kept popping up any time I would do a “natural nail polish” search, so I finally caved and bought a bottle. This is the FIRST polish I have ever used that does not smell like nail polish. It’s CRAZY.

Leave a Reply

