Thirty Before Thirty: The List

thirty30

While wrapping Timothy’s birthday gifts for the end of March (I obsess over birthday gifts, and always start early), it suddenly dawned on me that I turn thirty in just a couple short years. Lots of internet blogging friends and role models have started (or finished!) their “thirty before thirty” bucket-lists. I have so much I’d like to accomplish before I hit the big three-oh, so I thought it might be nice to take a stab at the list, myself.

  1. Learn to drive.
  2. Get my license.
  3. Move in with T.
  4. Grad school?
  5. If grad school does not pan out, take some graduate level courses on audit. Yes, for fun. I am a nerd, and I miss writing papers.
  6. Make surfing a regular part of summer routine. Stand up. Conquer fear.
  7. Produce art on a regular basis. Finish pieces.
  8. Have artwork shown.
  9. Learn to make a couple recipes fantastically.
  10. Get a library card.
  11. Go up in hot air balloon.
  12. Get my tattoo.
  13. Mentor.
  14. Give blood.
  15. Hike the local mountains.
  16. Go camping.
  17. Visit Redwood National Park.
  18. Dip my toes in the Pacific Ocean.
  19. Purchase a quality pair of leather knee boots.
  20. Take a yoga class.
  21. Volunteer.
  22. Build something.
  23. Learn to knit.
  24. Get health insurance. (!?)
  25. Clean out my belongings from Dad’s house, sell/donate what I don’t need.
  26. Try a restaurant’s tasting menu.
  27. Replace the “basics” (tanks, tees, leggings, socks) in my wardrobe with ethically produced/environment-friendly versions, and build a quality lingerie collection.
  28. [So Far Secret Career/Business Plan]
  29. [So Far TOP Secret Creative Culinary For-Fun Project]
  30. [So Far Secret Personal Art Goal]

Some of these things are for fun, some are a bit more serious, and some are just things I simply haven’t done yet. Goals 28-30 are plans I am currently keeping quiet except for in real-life (number 29 is ridiculous!). A lot of these are things I will accomplish possibly as soon as this summer. 

I rather like the idea of turning thirty. I’m confident that the next few years will be lovely for me, no matter what happens. I am in a good place. I guess when I was younger, I thought I’d have my life a little more, you know, together by now. I think my definition of “together” may have changed since then.

Also, I am pretty sure I thought twenty-five was old. Ha.

I’ll post progress updates occasionally!

PS. My tenth high school reunion is this summer. I am going to go home to Hardwick Vermont and cling to my best lady friends (one got married over the summer with a ginger-haired baby soon due, one is in law school for fun, one is a teacher/guidance counselor who frequently travels to London). Nota Bene: graduating class of approximately seventy, union school.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Thirty Before Thirty: The List

  1. jess March 3, 2013 at 8:38 pm Reply

    You have SO long until you turn 30!

    • Naomi March 3, 2013 at 8:39 pm Reply

      TWO YEARS. AH. I will be busting through this list. ;)

Leave a Reply

