Stitch Fix

There are a lot of reasons this isn’t a clothes-styling blog. I’d like to do an occasional outfit post, I really would, but I am a naturally camera shy individual. Speaking of cameras, I am currently operating cellphone-only. Also, my apartment is a disaster. I have no natural light. Shutter sounds offend the tortoise. My feet hurt. Excuses, excuses. Basically what I’m trying to say is that this post was a little tricky to put together, but I really wanted to write it. Any future style posts  will be more nicely photographed.

A few weeks ago I signed up for Stitch Fix. If you’re not familiar, Stitch Fix is a monthly (or bi-monthly, whenever-ly, schedule by YOU) box of clothing and accessories curated for you by a stylist. You start the process by filling out a “style profile” questionnaire. A Stitch Fix stylist reviews your profile and ships you a box with five mystery clothing/accessory items to choose from, and tips on how to style each piece. You have three days to go through the pieces and pick the items you want to keep; the rest you send back in a pre-paid envelope. It’s just a really fun way to try some new looks, with the opportunity for a brand new piece of clothing. Your initial profile can be as detailed or as simple  as you desire, and you have the option to change your preferences later on. The check out process allows you to review your items, as well as the overall experience, with room for comments.

Items I received in my first “Fix:”

  • Katie Waltman Multi Leaf Bracelet in gold (not pictured)
  • RD Style Sage Striped Sleeveless Sweater Vest
  • Papillion Bowery Bird Pleat Front Blouse
  • Collective Concepts Ivy Sheer Tulip Print V-Neck Blouse
  • Mystree Mick Crochet Detail Front Tank Top

fix

Overall these were really great picks for me, but I was only allowing myself to pick one from this month’s pieces, knowing that this choice uses my entire clothes shopping budget for this paycheck, and probably for the month. I ended up picking the tulip blouse. It’s unlike anything I currently have in my wardrobe, but still manages to work with a lot of what I wear often. It’s the most me. I can easily dress it up or stay casual. This top was also produced in the US, which fits within my current criteria for any non-thrifted clothing item. So, a win? Totally a win. I am really happy with this top.

If you’re interested in Stitch Fix, check them out. I had a lot of fun with this shipment, and have another Fix scheduled for May. The best part is being able to try on things at home with access to my closet! The site is currently in Beta mode, but it only took a couple weeks for my original request to process. You can fill out your style profile while you wait.

final_fix

Again, reminder to self: This has been an exercise in investment and financial responsibility. You spent your whole clothes budget on something nice and new. No pawing at cute donations that come in at work. NO.

Full disclosure, clicking on any of the above Stitch Fix links and signing up gives me credit towards my next purchase.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Stitch Fix

  1. that girl March 23, 2013 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Cute top! I tried Stitch Fix also and am waiting on Fix #2 to come next month. I’m hoping that the extra expense will mean the clothes will last a little longer. :)

    • Naomi March 24, 2013 at 2:40 pm Reply

      I’m hoping so, too! I just have to be better now about not continuing to buy crummy-quality stuff in the interim! Hehe.

  2. fon April 19, 2013 at 11:48 pm Reply

    I got the same tulip top in my fix too! :)

  3. […] second Stitch Fix arrived in the mail, earlier this week! You can read all about my first Fix, here. Both experiences have been entirely enjoyable, and I highly recommend signing up if you’re […]

Leave a Reply

